Never Say Never


I never get sea sick. Never. I have been on boats many times.  Lots even.  From little boats to big cruise lines. Never been sea sick.   I didn’t think I would have any problem going out on the dive boat.  We wouldn’t even be on the boat very long in between dives. No problem. I never get sea sick.  HA!  I will never say never again!  Or at least for another week or so.

 

We left the dock around 1:30pm on Saturday, May 31, 2008 for our SCUBA diving test dives.  I was nervous but looking forward to seeing what was under the water.  The seas were around 6ft.  When the boat stopped and was just sitting in the water, I started to feel a little uneasy.  Queasy even.  I didn’t like it.  I was nervous.  That was it. Just nerves.  I just had to get in the water and I would do better. One giant step and off the boat I went.  I did ok. I didn’t sink. I had all the gear on right. I was going to be ok.  I started to let the air out of my BC (buoyancy compensator) and should have started to sink.  I didn’t. I still floated on the surface.  All the other students were sinking.  I was floating.  I am pretty sure SCUBA requires me to get under the water.  This wasn’t good. I grabbed on to the mooring line and pulled myself under. I kept pulling myself down that line until I got to the rest of the class at 35ft underwater.  However, my body wanted to keep floating back up.  It was a struggle to stay down for the entire first dive.  We had to do our regulator checks, take our masks off, put our masks on, loose then retrieve our regulators, etc.  It was very nerve racking.  But we did ok.  Now it was time to go back to the boat. That was good. So I thought.

 

Once I got back to the surface by the boat, the waves were just tossing me around.  I had to hang on to a rope and pull myself toward the ladder (which was also being thrown around by the waves).  I could feel my body getting queasy again.  It took all my strength to get back on board.  The weight of the tank and equipment kept trying to pull me off that ladder.  The waves pushing the boat and ladder to and fro. It was so hard to get up on the deck.  Once I made it, I just wanted to pass out.  But it was time to swap out tanks and get ready for the next dive.  All I could think of was “we just spent $1,200 for equipment we will never use again. I hate this.”  Someone helped me get out of the gear and swap my equipment to the next tank. Actually, they did it. I wasn’t helping at all, because at this point I am leaning over the railing and puking my guts out.  I’m pretty sure I was saying “I never get sea sick” the entire time I was puking.

 

Dive two day 1:  Someone put my gear on. It is hazy as who it was or how I stood up.  They told me once I hit the water I wouldn’t be sick anymore. I just about ran to the edge and jumped off.  They were right. I felt good as soon as I hit that water.  Thank heavens.

 

The second dive wasn’t as bad as the first. I had more weight in my vest so I sank easier, but I got some metal in my thumb from the mooring line.  That started to bleed and I thought “great, here come the sharks”  Almost as soon as I thought that, I saw a reef shark.  Cool.  He was neat. About 4-5 feet in length.  That was fun.  There were more tests to take so not much sight-seeing on this dive either.  After about 55 minutes of diving and testing, it was time to go back to the boat.  NOoooooooooooo!  I knew as soon as I hit that deck, I would be heaving again.  I didn’t want to go back to the boat.  Luckily, the instructor let us be the last ones up.  Once we got back to the boat, someone took off my gear and I began to lean over the deck again.  Good thing I didn’t have a big breakfast.

 

As soon as the boat started to head for shore, I felt fine.  The sea sickness left as quickly as it came.  It was so weird.  Once we docked, Barry and I headed for our hotel room, took showers, and fell asleep.  It was only 4 in the afternoon.  We awoke around 8:00pm and went over to the dive shop for the little cook out they had planned.  I was afraid to eat, but too hungry not to eat.  We didn’t stay long, we needed to get back to the hotel room. Even after such a long nap, we wanted to go to sleep.

 

Day 2, Dive 1.  I was panicked going back out on the boat on Sunday.  The divemaster could tell and asked if I had gotten much sleep.  I didn’t. I tossed and turned most all night thinking about how sick I got and worrying that it would happen again.  He told me it was normal. The stress of the first dive usually gets you. Then he said “I bet you thought “”we just spent $1,200 on this equipment and we HATE it!”” I laughed because he read my mind. 

 

When the boat stopped and tied up to the mooring line, I realized something. I wasn’t sick.  Not even a little.  I had on my gear and I was the first one off the boat.  Woohoo! I might like this.  We saw tons of fish and didn’t have much testing to do. 

 

Day 2, Dive 2. Still not sick.  The last dive had no tests. We could just swim and enjoy ourselves for about 1 hour.  It was on a shipwreck too.  That was neat. We saw a couple of lobsters, barracuda, and tons of fish.  There were Parrot fish, angel fish, snapper, grouper, little yellow, purple, blue, red, and fish of every other color down there.  It was nice.  All too soon it was time to go back to the boat.  However, this time I didn’t feel afraid to climb back on board.  We got back to the dock around 12:00pm and are now certified SCUBA divers! Woohoo. Not sure we will do this often, but I think it will be an enjoyable trip now and again. 

 

Barry says that now he learned how to SCUBA for me, I should jump out of a plane with him.  NEVER!

Leave a Reply

