The Circus is In town


We wondered by Tom (one of our cats) was being so loving. He isn’t usually one for petting and scratching.  However, he kept coming up to us for just that. He wouuld sit and let us scratch him for long periods of time.  He slept in the bathroom on the tile floor which was also very odd.  We couldnt’ figure out what had happened to him.  Then we noticed the patch of fur that was gone from his neck.  That isn’t good.  I didn’t see anything that could have caused it though.  Then, while scratching the Sock’s belly (the 3 legged beer-getting dog), I saw them. FLEAS!  I checked all the animals.  They all had them! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooooooo!
 
Some would later ask, "don’t you have that stuff that goes between the animals shoulders and keeps fleas and ticks away?"  Actually, yes, I do have that stuff. However, I have found that it doesn’t work. At least not when it is sitting in the cabinet and not put on the dogs or cats for months at a time. OK! So I forgot to put it on them.  I’m a bad pet mom.
 
I hate fleas.  I found them at 5:00am on Sunday morning.  I couldn’t sleep after that.  I got up and began the De-fleaing process.  Washing. Tons of washing.  Throwing out cat beds, washing animals. Have you ever tried to bathe a cat?  Vacuuming up the carpet, tile, and furniture.  But wait! We couldn’t vacuum them because our vacuum had just broken.  So it was a trip to Target then to Petsmart for some flea spray and Advantage for cats and dogs.  More laundry, scrubbing, and disgust.  All the while with hubby humming a circus tune.  He said "hey, the flea circus is in town!"  I couldn’t help but laugh.  but I still hate fleas!
Leave a Reply

