How Sweet It Is!


I gave up sugar for lent. I really wanted to do something that would cause me to think about everything I ate. Boy, did I get it right on this one.  Did you know sugar is in just about everything?

 

Here is a short list of the foods I have found that contain sugar, and therefore, I can not eat during lent.

  • Pancake Mixes
  • Cough Drops
  • Of course all candy, cakes, and cookies.
  • Breakfast Bars
  • Packaged Cereals – even the ones I thought were healthy
  • Bread
  • Soup
  • Yogurt
  • Dried or canned Fruit
  • Protein Powder
  • Alcohol
  • Chewing Gum
  • Relish
  • Mustard
  • Canned Soups
  • Canned Fruits
  • Puddings
  • Jams and Jellies
  • Canned stuff
  • Sherbet
  • Peanut Butter (seriously?)
  • Sauces
  • Salad Dressings
  • Crackers
  • Soy Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Breath Mints
  • Tenderizes
  • TV Dinners
  • Condiments
  • Breakfast Drinks
  • Meat Sauces
  • Food Seasoning
  • Fast Foods
  • Snails –like I would eat these anyway

I have been reading every label on every food I consider eating. This is a fantastic way for me to really find out what I have been putting in my body for so long.  I never took time to read labels before. Now, in order to avoid sugar, I have to read the label. What a concept. This is allowing me to find out how many calories and fat I am eating as well. I know I should have been doing this all along in order to lose weight and eat healthy, but I never took the time before.  I’m glad I gave up sugar. It has really opened my eyes to what goes into my body. Perhaps this will be a habit I will stick with long after Lent.

However, March 17th there will be birthday cake in my menu. I’m sure of that.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

