Long Time, No Type…sorry.


I have been hearing a little “chatter” that this blog has been stagnant for a little too long. Sorry about that, but I have been very busy with a certain someone’s 50th birthday party.  Interestingly enough, that certain “someone” was the one causing most of the chatter. 

 

The family arrived over a period of 3 days and our time together was much too short.  We have so much fun when we are together.  Do other families enjoy getting together as much?  I often wonder that while we are playing games, having cookouts, or just hanging around together. 

 

The only thing that was wrong with this visit was that I wish it would have lasted longer.  We played Scrabble, basketball, tennis, Jenga, volleyball, Hosier golf, went to the beach, the pier, had cookouts, drank Barry’s homebrew (which was FANTASTIC!), had an all-day birthday party, and generally had a wonderful time for 6 days.  When can you all come back?

 

We had friends visit that we had not seen in a very long time.  I wish I could bottle the feeling that I have had over the past week and be able to open it whenever I feel a little lonely.  Thank you everyone for the best time ever!  This was quite possibly our bestest birthday party ever.

 

Barry is now officially “old” (hey, you asked for the blog entry!)  and must now sign up for AARP.  He makes “dad” noises when he stands up or sits down, getting down to the floor takes careful consideration (is it really necessary? Can we live without the item that just fell on the floor?).  Getting up from the floor requires careful planning and perhaps a little assistance.  (Ok, I’m kidding here, but he is 50 you know)

 

I can’t thank everyone enough for everything you did to make this the best family/friend vacation/party ever! 

 

As a little side note, my healthy eating was tossed to the side during the family vacation.  I was a little concerned that I would not be able to get back into the “swing” of things once everyone left.  However, I started up yesterday with workouts and better eating without a problem.  I am continuing my mantras that “I will eat healthy and workout consistently” and that really helps.  Remember, do not deny yourself fun foods once in a while, but do not make it a habit.  If I had to spend the past 6 days without enjoying some birthday cake and other fattening foods, I probably would not be able to get back on track as quickly.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

