Imagination


I have spent the past two days attending the Imagine Solutions Conference in Naples, FL hosted by the Searching for Solutions Institute.  What is the Searching for Solutions Institute?  According to the website “The Institute’s vision of enabling exceptional leaders to make a difference comes alive at the inaugural world-class conference, Imagine Solutions, in Naples, Fla., on February 22 & 23, 2010, and serves as the kick-off for year-round programs designed to help leaders learn about – and take action – on important societal initiatives.”

Basically, for two days, 53 speakers informed a crowd of over 400 on the challenges the world is facing today.  We learned about the environment, energy, health, the economy, and education.  I learned so much during this two-day conference, that I thought my brain would explode!  It was very informative, eye-opening, humbling, exciting, and scary all at the same time.

 

We met entertaining and exciting experts in every field mentioned above.  I have to admit that at times I felt quite inadequate. I listened to 20-year-olds that do more before 8:00am than I do all week long!  Some of them are searching for cancer cures, two head a group to put young people in underdeveloped countries to help with health care, and another one is working hard to end Genocide in this world.  I was inspired and awed by each one’s story.

 

I met several doctors that are doing everything they can to end obesity in this country.  I really didn’t love looking at the statistics on this one.  Over 40% of Americans are diabetic, and a whopping 67% of us are either overweight or obese! Dr. Mark Liponis had some great insights into the best healthy eating plan for different body types.  I discovered my body type and my best eating plan.  He suggested I make sure to have some type of healthy carbohydrate every 2-3 hours (whole wheat crackers, brown rice, or something similar).  This along with a very lot fat dietary intake is supposed to help me drop the pounds and get healthy.  I am going to try it and will keep you posted.

 

In addition to the doctor’s speeches, I listened to environmentalists discussing the decline of many of the world’s plant and animal life.  I heard about climate change, energy woes, and the lack of quality education for our children. 

 

After the two days of intensive lectures, it is time to learn “what’s next?”  The Searching for Solutions group is going to setup teams of people that want to help come up with solutions for some of the world’s most pressing problems.  Everyone in attendance will be hearing from the group soon.  This was an amazing conference and I am glad I had the opportunity to attend.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

