And That’s When The Fight Started


I was listening to the radio on my way home last night and the host was talking about a segment he was going to call "And That Is When The Fight Started."  I was intrigued. I continued to listen.  He stated that sometimes men and women don’t communicate well.  He went on to tell the story about how he really messed up over the weekend.  He has been struggling with his weight for a while and as he came out of the bathroom after having just weighed himself, he said something very stupid.  He opened his mouth, and said "Well, it’s official…….I’m fat Too!"  He realized as the word "too" was exiting  his open mouth that he was in a heap of trouble with is wife.  That is when he said "And that is when the fight started." 
 
He wanted to hear from other listeners to see if they had a similar "And that is when the fight started" story.  I had a feeling there were a lot of them.  I didn’t call in, but it made me remember one of my favorite "And that is when the fight started" stories.  Barry and I were dating (people still used rocks and chisels to communicate) and we were out dancing.  I went out on the dance floor without him a few times, while he had a drink or chatted with other people.  One time, as I left the dance floor, Barry came rushing over to me with a very annoyed look on his face.  He said "oh, I thought that was you still out there on the dance floor dancing with some other guy!"  I looked over at the dance floor and did see a rather tall blonde dancing closely with someone.  I look back at Barry and said "I would never do that while you were here!"  As the words came out of my mouth I realized that they didn’t sound nearly as right as they had in my head.  "While I’m here! You mean you would do it when I wasn’t here???" "And that is when the fight started." 
 
Of course it wasn’t a big fight, it is funny to look back at that time now 26 years later.  We will celebrate 25 years of marriage this month.  I can hardly believe it.  There have been less and less of the "And that is when the fight started" moments.  Life just keeps getting better when you are married to your best friend.
 
 
Leave a Reply

