Karma


The Samyutta Nikaya states:
“According to the seed that’s sown,
So is the fruit you reap there from,
Doer of good will gather good,
Doer of evil, evil reaps,
Down is the seed and thou shalt taste
The fruit thereof.”
Our neighbors that sued us last year (because our dog bit there dog 5 years ago) have sowed the seeds and have now tasted the fruit. It is very sour fruit.
One of their dogs got off its leash and ran after and attacked another dog in our neighborhood. I think they will need the $20,000 they got from us to pay for the lawsuit they will be facing now.
I guess it was unwise for them to lie to obtain the insurance money. It was wrong for them to scream obscenities to us for the past 4.5 years whenever we walked past. II prayed for them frequently. I prayed they would learn to forgive and be at peace. However, they never seemed to get over the dog bite. Their dog lived a long and good life after the bite. He died 3 or 4 years later at a ripe old age. However, they choose to blame the dog bite for his death. They choose to sue us for a lot of money. Luckily we had insurance that covered the cost for us. I hope they have insurance to cover the costs they will now face.
I didn’t wish this on them. But perhaps now they will realize that accidents can happen. I’m sure they didn’t plan for their dog to viciously attack another defenseless dog. Just as we didn’t plan for our dog to bite theirs so long ago. Accidents happen. I hope that the owners of dog that was victim to this attack will be more gracious to them than they were to us.

5 responses to “Karma

  1. Sweet, sweet, sweet, sweet post. That’s why you are a better person than I am. I want them to suffer as they had made us suffer. You, on the other hand, just want them to finally realize that accidents happen. This is why I am not worthy of you. This is why I strive to be more like you.

    B-man out!

  2. Your better than me too. I’d be knocking on their door with a cookie for the dog saying, “Hey I heard your dog was off leash and attacked another dog. What was the name of that lawyer you used, I want to give it to (enter name of attacked dog’s owner).”

  3. Good one, BethAnn.

  4. I’m with Barry – you’re a good, sweet person. My first thought was “Neener, neener, neener!”

  5. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!! “Neener, neener, neener!” HAHAHA!!!

Leave a Reply

