50 Things To Do When You Turn 50


I got a book for my 50th birthday (I had it on my wish list). It is called “50 Things To Do When You Turn 50” I started reading it this morning.

1. Stop Complaining. No one cares that you don’t like getting older – so quit bellyaching. The book says that complaining about getting old is ok in your 30s and 40s, but once you are actually “old” (apparently 50), it is time to stop. Ouch!

I’m not sure I like this book. Chapter one tells me I am a bellyacher and old. I know, I know, the truth hurts. I do, however, agree that complaining doesn’t make anything better. I actually believe it makes this worse. Complaining about how old you feel will only make you feel older. However, I can complain about other people making me feel old!

For the past month, I have been receiving membership letters from AARP. I really don’t think I am AARP material just yet. I don’t get the Perkins senior meals for 5 more years. I can’t get Social Security, Medicare, or the senior discounts at Bealls (and I love a good discount). If I can’t have those things, I don’t think I am old enough for AARP. However, each and every week there is another membership packet in the mail addressed to me. They even spelled my name right. Darn. It really must be for me.
So what if I forget why I went to the mailbox, where I put my keys, my next sentence, where I parked, what day it is, or the question I just asked you (yes, I know I do that…a lot). I’m still not ready for AARP. I may be ready for a walker, a hand getting up off the floor, a knee brace, but not AARP.

I haven’t even opened any of the AARP letters until today. I figured if they are going to keep sending them, I should at least open one. Wow! Did you know AARP members get discounts on restaurants? Perhaps I should have opened this earlier. I like discounts. I can purchase a 25.00 gift card to a restaurant for $10! SNAP!

What have I been waiting for! 50 is definitely just the right age to join AARP! Now if I can only remember where I put my reading glasses and a pen I can fill out this membership form.

One response to “50 Things To Do When You Turn 50

  1. I said it before, and I’ll say it again: I LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE…or is it right? Maybe rite…. I forgot.

Leave a Reply

