If I Could Turn Back Time


Remembering to turn the clocks ahead at this time of year should be second nature to me. I have to be sure it happens at work, at home, and at my mom’s house. I have done this for years and years and years. However, turning 50 (not that I am complaining) seems to have messed with my memory.

I helped turn the clocks at our house forward. I made sure the time clocks and servers updated the time at work. I went over to my mom’s house and took care of moving her clocks too. However, I moved my mom’s clocks “BACK” one hour. Why, you ask? Because my mind is gone. I can’t find it. It must have traveled back in time to when it worked.

Mom called me yesterday to tell me she was going to see “The King’s Speech” with my sister-in-law. She didn’t want me to worry if I called and she wasn’t home. She called me about 3 hours later to tell me they missed the showing of “The King’s Speech” because her clocks were set to the wrong time. Oops. She told my sister-in-law that they were too early for the show (since her clocks where set wrong) and they went shopping for a while first instead of going straight to the movie theatre.

When they arrived at the theatre, the attendant told them the movie had started 30 minutes earlier. It was now 2:00pm and they were late for the showing. My mom argued with the man explaining that it was only 1:00pm as her daughter set all her clocks to the correct time! Oops again.

Mom told me it was fine and not to worry, but to get over there soon to set the clocks to the right time. Since I wasn’t sure of my ability to change the clocks correctly, I called my husband and asked if he could stop at mom’s house on the way home from work and set her clocks.

I’m going home to have a drink. I’m sure it is 5 O’Clock somewhere.

2 responses to “If I Could Turn Back Time

  1. I I I I just don’t know what to write. I’m kind of speechless. The things that make you say “Hmmmm.”

  2. Wow, if only you could turn back time … wait – you did. Does anyone else hear Cher? “If I could turn back time ……”

Leave a Reply

